Writing Development Kit (WDK)

If you know about grunt and you’re like me and do a lot of your writing in Markdown, I’ve put together a “Writing Development Kit”. As far as I know no-one has beaten me to it, so I’m coining that phrase here and now! I’m using Brian Ford’s library ironically named write-good for prose checking, and using grunt to keep the checks going as I write. Yes, it may seem like reinventing the Microsoft Word wheel, but I strongly dislike Word which is justification enough.

Have a look at & download my gist to give it a shot. Getting started is easy:

$ npm install #when the installation's done, you'll want to have/make some .md files for the prose checker to go through.
$ grunt

ét voilà! I’m using it with the Sublime Text EditorConfig and Grunt plugins installed in distraction free mode, and it’s fantastic. Enjoy, and feel free to leave comments here or on the gist itself!

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Switching computers with Keybase.io

Keybase.io is actually pretty great, for a lot of reasons that I won’t get into here. But as a GPG noob I couldn’t really find a how-to for moving from computer to computer, so I struggled at first to get my git commits signed properly... Continue →