Switching computers with Keybase.io

Keybase.io is actually pretty great, for a lot of reasons that I won’t get into here. But as a GPG noob I couldn’t really find a how-to for moving from computer to computer, so I struggled at first to get my git commits signed properly when I got back to my old machine. But now I’ve got it down, so here we go! Disclaimer: I’m assuming you have OS X with Homebrew installed.

brew update && brew install git keybase gpg
keybase login
keybase pgp update # to add your new device to your keybase account
keybase pgp export | gpg --import
keybase pgp export -s | gpg --allow-secret-key-import --import

gpg --edit-key <your_email>
> trust
> 5 # you should only give ultimate trust to your own key 
# after confirming
> quit

gpg --list-keys

The last command will give you what you need to follow these instructions to automatically sign all your commits.

Enjoy! The next TODO would probably be getting your entire team on board, which may be challenging but worth it.

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

Manage node versions with brew

TLDR # brew install node node@10 node@8 node@6 # latest, and all LTS versions at time of writing brew info node@10 # gets the $PATH variable you'll need to use node v10. You will only need the following line: export... Continue →